A MUST-SEE ATTRACTION IN DUBLIN CITY CENTRE
Trinity College Dublin, founded in 1592 by Queen Elizabeth 1, provides for a fascinating visit and it is one of Ireland’s top attractions. It is the oldest university in Ireland and is famous for its graduates such as Swift, Goldsmith, Wilde and Beckett.
The Old Library and the Book of Kells Exhibition is a 'must see' on the itinerary of all visitors to Dublin. Located in the heart of Dublin City, a walk through the cobbled stones of Trinity College Dublin will bring visitors back to the 18th century, when the magnificent Old Library building was constructed. Inside is housed the Book of Kells - a 9th-century gospel manuscript famous throughout the world.
Visitors enter through the Library Shop and proceed to the Book of Kells 'Turning Darkness into Light' exhibition; then to the Treasury where the Book of Kells and other related manuscripts are on view; then proceed upstairs to the magnificent Long Room, the longest single-chamber library in the world, which houses 200,000 of the library’s oldest books in its oak bookcases.
‘Turning Darkness into Light’ is an exhibition introducing the Book of Kells and other manuscripts.
The Book of Kells is world famous. Written over 1000 years ago, it contains lavishly hand decorated copy, in Latin, of the four gospels. It has long been associated with St Colum Cille (c 521-597 AD) who founded his principal monastery on the island of Iona, off the west coast of Scotland, in about 561. The Book of Kells was probably produced early in the 9th century by the monks of Iona, working wholly or partially at Iona itself or at Kells, County Meath, where they moved after 806 AD, when Iona was attacked by Vikings.
Trinity College Library Dublin is one of the world’s great research libraries, holding the largest collection of manuscripts and printed books in Ireland. There has been a library there since Trinity College was founded by charter of Queen Elizabeth in 1592. The earliest surviving building, the Old Library, was built between 1712 and 1732.
The Long Room
The main chamber of the Old Library, the Long Room, is stunning. It is nearly 65 metres in length, and houses around 200,000 of the library’s oldest books. Marble busts are placed down either side of the room - a collection which began in 1743.
Trinity College Dublin is situated in the heart of Dublin's city centre. Trinity College's central location makes it highly accessible for all forms of public transport, such as LUAS (light rail transit) lines, the DART line (Dublin's suburban rail system) and a large number of Dublin's bus routes. The national bus routes are a few minutes' walk away, Dublin's main two train stations are in close proximity, while Dublin airport is 13km (8 miles) from the campus and is directly accessible via bus or taxi.