THE STORY OF DUBLIN CITY
Dublin's City Hall is an outstanding example of the Georgian architecture for which Dublin is world-renowned. The sumptuous fittings of the Rotunda or entrance hall reflect the prestige of Dublin in the late 18th Century.
Designed by Thomas Cooley, it was originally the Royal Exchange and became the centre of municipal government in 1852.
The atmospheric vaults now house a multi-media exhibition on the history of the city, from the arrival of the Vikings to the present day. The self-guided exhibition takes just one hour and tells the tale of this unique and ever changing city. Leaflets (available in various languages) and treasures of the city such as the Great City Sword and Mace come together with video, medieval manuscripts, computer displays and period costumes to tell 'The Story of the Capital'.
A charming café and shop are located on site.
Dublin's City Hall is just a 10 minute walk from the Jervis stop on the Luas Red Line (Dublin's light rail tram system). It is located next to Dublin Castle.