LEARN ABOUT LIFE IN DONEGAL FROM THE STONE AGE TO THE 20TH CENTURY
Donegal County Museum is based in a fine old stone building, which was once part of the Letterkenny Workhouse, opened in 1845. The museum houses a fascinating range of artefacts covering all aspects of life in Donegal from the Stone Age to the 20th Century. A series of temporary exhibitions are held throughout the year covering a variety of topics with something to suit all ages and interests. Talks and events are held throughout the year.
Fun for Kids!
Children's Activity Trails and 'Donegal Museum Detective' Backpacks are available to borrow free of charge for visiting children. The North West Film Archive and Island Archive are also available for viewing in the Museum. These digital archives contain a wide range of film material relating to the counties of Derry and Donegal and the islands off County Donegal. Access to the archive is free of charge.
The museum is located on High Road - opposite the Revenue Office and across from the Old Orchard Inn.